top of page
Writer's pictureHannah Wahlberg

Dual Review: Lesbian Cheerleaders

Updated: Feb 12, 2022

I have just read two books in a row about lesbian cheerleaders! Both including hare-brained plots devised from their main characters. Both featuring high school girls falling for girls they never would have thought would be their type. Certainly both were on my "To-Read" list for far too long. Now, from my ears (both are available in audiobook) to your eyes, some YA romances about cheerleaders!




She Drives Me Crazy by Kelly Quindlen

CW: Homophobia, Underage Drinking, Discussion of Mental/Emotional Abuse, Weed

4/5


Scottie is a basketball player for a small town's team alongside her best friend Danielle, the student coach. Just a few months ago Scottie and the team lost Tally to a rival school. Tally is Scottie's emotionally abusive ex that she still isn't over. When shaken up after a game against each other, Scottie gets into a car crash in the school parking lot. With Scottie's bad luck, it isn't just a simple exchange of insurance information, as the car she crashed into belonged to a cheerleader she has beef with.


Irene already has a lot on her plate between dealing with her own rival, wishing her mother would take her seriously, and vying for student athlete of the year. When Scottie's mom suggests they carpool, Irene is not happy about having to spend time with some rando that doesn't respect cheerleading as the sport it is.


This is where we get to the combo of my 2 favorite tropes, enemies-to-lovers meets fake relationship! Irene can't afford the car costs and Scottie wants to get back at Tally, so she pays Irene to date her. It's deliciously dramatic but also allows for growth and respect to form between the two girls.


While this book does sometimes feel like a Hallmark movie, complete with romanticizing small-town life, a Christmas company, and a grand gesture, it's exactly what this book needs. She Drives Me Crazy balances the light, gooey, funny, romantic stuff with the serious, important, complicated, messy stuff. All of the characters are well written and the story accomplishes everything it set out to do. The only reason this book took me so long to get to reading was because I had to wait for it to be available on Overdrive.




Queerleaders by M. B. Guel

CW: Homophobia, Gaslighting, Forced Outing, Lying/Cheating

3.5/5


Mack appreciates cheerleaders, she really appreciates them. After being outed by one of the popular guys at school as a lesbian thanks to her crush on the head cheerleader, Mack takes the advice her best friend and parents jokingly have her. She's going to try and hook up with all of the cheerleaders. She may have been a nobody before this, but she may become the biggest heart-breaker in the school by year's end.


This book is set up somewhat like a mystery novel. You wonder if everything is going to be resolved by the end and who might become Mack's true love interest. I would like to advise you all to trust your gut, but I should not assume everyone will root for the same things I did. Queerleaders is on the shorter side, but it packs a lot into those pages.


The reason this book was on my list for so long was that it was suggested to me. Double standard, I know, but I prefer to pick out my own books and then tell everyone else to read them. While I'm so glad I got around to reading it and I'm very pleased with the ending, if it were a longer book I would have put it down. The homophobia is framed in a negative light, but it is so prevalent. It's the worst from the staff of the school. I was also hesitant about Mack's best friend gaslighting her. Nothing was written in vain, though. Like a great mystery novel, every piece fell into place in the end.




If you're looking to read about lesbian cheerleaders, I highly recommend both of these books! They may look similar on the surface, but they satisfy and accomplish very different things. And when you're done, let me know what you think about either or both!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page