top of page
Writer's pictureHannah Wahlberg

Gender Queer, Queer Review

Gender Queer by Maia Kobabe

CW: Naked Bodies, Talk and Depiction of Sexual Interactions, Depiction of Pap Smears, Medical Trauma, Blood, Body Horror, Vomit, Depictions of Dysphoria, Queerphobia, Deadnaming (redacted), Misgendering, Excrement, Misogynistic Microaggressions, Positive References to Problematic Media, Ace Bandage Binding, Cursing

5/5



Considering how many times Maia Kobabe's Gender Queer has been banned, I have been well aware of this graphic novel since its release in 2019. Despite how well-known it is, I didn't pick it up until now. I just wanted a graphic novel to spend a Saturday reading. I'm not a huge fan of non-fiction books, but my love for graphic novels will almost always supersede that. Memoirs are much more interesting when there are pictures involved. Kobabe's is definitely popular for a reason.


Maia Kobabe (pronouns e/em/eir) was never one for autobiographical works, preferring not to share so much about emself with the world. Maia grew up in the 90s and early 2000s, a time when trans topics weren't being so freely talked about. E grew up in rural Northern California, spending a number of those years being homeschooled. E has a loving and supporting family, and knew a few other queer people growing up. Still, eir journey to self-discovery took a long and twisting path. Gender Queer is this story.


I am cis, but most of my friends are non-binary, including my older sibling. It's important to remember that if you've met one trans person, you've met one trans person. No one is the spokesperson for all trans people. I know who my friends are as people and I know a lot more trans-specific details about my sibling, but this graphic novel addressed things I would have never thought to ask. In particular, the dysphoria. I knew that it can be intense, but it was hard to imagine until I saw the pap smear scenes. I have read trans books before, but the visual aspect of a graphic novel adds to my understanding. Kobabe was able to better understand emself by interacting with the trans community. It was a joy to see em get to the point where e would want to write and publish Gender Queer.


Although this memoir focuses on gender identity, Kobabe comes out as bi and is potentially aroace. Kobabe never directly states that e is asexual or aromantic, but there is a page where e expresses relief over not having to date anyone or have sex with anyone. There is another page where e is complimenting the signs that the ace community brings to Pride. I heavily related to the asexual aspects of Kobabe's journey. Kobabe mentions that it would've made a big difference to have seen someone like em growing up. I love ace representation for the same reason.


Obviously, it's ridiculous that Gender Queer has been banned, but I would like to talk about why. I think there's this conception that graphic novels/comics are for kids and adults who never grew up. This graphic novel just isn't for kids, that's okay. It has depictions of sex and gynecological appointments. We don't ban bodice ripper novels for having sex in them. A simple rating or content warning is all the book needs. This book is banned because it's queer and that's not okay. People of all ages need to see people that look and feel like them. It's validating and can help us understand ourselves better.


As Gender Queer is a graphic novel, I think it's important to talk about the art! I don't know what Kobabe looks like in real life, but I think e did a great job of depicting how e sees emself. It's a casual androgynous look in clothes and face. I loved when the narrative would split from panels into full-page spreads. They're all unique and let Kobabe's creativity shine. E has a masters in comics and it shows. It's implied at the end of the novel that the target audience is Kobabe's family. The color palette and art style feel like a stroll through the countryside. This is clearly eir roots, so perhaps that touch was for them. Overall, the design of the novel made it easier to read the hard parts and engaging to read everything else.


Nonfiction graphic novels are a great way to learn more about the world if you struggle with traditional nonfiction books. Maia Kobabe's Gender Queer can show you a lot about one trans person's experience with being non-binary. It will also teach you many other things about the queer community, Northern California, and connecting to people through fandoms. I definitely recommend giving this memoir a try!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page