top of page
Writer's pictureHannah Wahlberg

Kate In Waiting For This Review

Kate in Waiting by Becky Albertalli

CW: Swearing, Cyber-bullying, Bullying, Underage Drinking, References to Sex, Homophobic Parent, Mentions of Divorce, Mentions of Transphobia

4/5



Delightfully Jewish and wonderfully queer - that’s exactly what you can expect from most of Becky Albertalli's books! It did get off to a rough start, though. Albertalli is one of my go-to authors, so it was no surprise that I was at least going to give Kate In Waiting a chance. I stuck with it because I felt like I wasn't getting enough Jewish content lately. However, it's possible I'm starting to get to the age where contemporary realistic-fiction teen novels are too young for me. That sounds like hearsay, but the two main characters got on my nerves until I gave them a second chance and I am glad that I did.


Kate in Waiting is centered around Kate, Anderson, their crush, and the school play. Kate and Anderson have an odd habit of sharing crushes. They don't like a boy unless they are both into him. It's normally more about having something to gush about together than actually being into someone. When their mutual camp crush moves to their school and joins their musical, real feelings start to arise. Kate and Anderson's friendship may be in jeopardy. As they work on the musical, both characters will gain revelations regarding themselves and others.


It was the dynamic of shared crushes and Kate's hyperactive personality that turned me off. I ended up taking a break, listening to some music, and then turning it back on about an hour later. Immediately I heard references to Judaism in a hilarious bathroom banter scene, so I knew I was going to stick with it. Despite Kate and Anderson's mutual crush on the character Matt, I started shipping Kate with Noah from the moment he appeared. They aren't exactly enemies (as my favorite trope would ask for), but they do banter a lot. Having this potential other crush allows the audience some hope for Kate AND Anderson. We can just be along for the ride.


Albertalli tends to write a non-practicing, but culturally Jewish character. I also tend to be drawn to non-practicing, but culturally Jewish characters. I understand that doesn't provide my readers with a lot of temple-going books, but I gravitate towards the books that I can relate to. I did grow up going to temple, religious school, and being very involved in the youth group, but in my adulthood, I'm more just proud of and interested in my Judaism than practicing. Kate in Waiting is no exception to these things. There are several Jewish characters in the book (both confirmed and suspected), Shabbat is observed once, Kate and her family use Yiddish, and Kate and Noah used to play with their Challah and sing in the temple choir. These and other culturally-Jewish things made me happy with the overall Jewishness of the book.


As far as books of this genre and books by Albertalli go, it's average. It isn't bad, it isn't great. It was sweet, funny, and played with a dynamic I've never seen before. Judaism is very saturated within the book, something I'm always looking for more of. The side characters are enjoyable, but I didn't feel like I knew them very well. I both liked and disliked that I related to Kate. Some things hit too close to home, but others I relished reading. I also enjoyed references such as Daniel Tiger's Neighborhood, Tangled, and more.


Kate in Waiting is a mixed bag, but overall a worthwhile read. If you choose to pass, you won't miss anything. If you opt to pick it up, you won't be disappointed. Make the choice that feels right to you!



Happy Book Lovers Day!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page