top of page
Writer's pictureHannah Wahlberg

Queens of Geek and This Review

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

CW: Fat-Shaming, Biphobia, Sexism, Use of "Aspergers" in place of "ASD" or "Autism" by Author, Drinking, Discussion of Cheating, Discussion of Gaslighting, Ableism, Microaggressions, Described Sensory Overload, Described Panic Attack, Zombies

4.5/5



I can't think of a single positive review of this book that I read before starting. I'm so glad that I ignored all of those negative ones, though! This book had me smiling throughout my read. I could hardly put it down! Jen Wilde has captured my heart as a writer, especially through her characters. Yes, this book is cheesy and panders to the nerd audience, but I struggle to see what is wrong with that. I had heard that many found it flat or missing something. I was going to read this book even if it had turned out to fit that description, but it simply didn't. I was after the queer content, the convention setting, and an autistic point of view character written by an autistic author. Perhaps it was the quick pace of the book, but I've read quick pace books that didn't work and this is different.


Three friends, Charlie, Taylor, and Jamie, attend a convention in the United States. They all go to school together in Melbourne, Australia. Charlie is Chinese Australian, bisexual, a vlogger, and a guest at the convention to promote her first film. Taylor and Jamie are her two best friends and invited along for the ride. Taylor and Jamie are in love with each other but they're both in the dark. They are also both superfans of one of SupaCon's other celebrity guests, Skylar, a famous author. Taylor is autistic and suffers from anxiety. She is fat and doesn't like to wear makeup or conform to beauty standards. She likes herself just like that. Jamie is Latin American, but went to high school in Melbourne. He's very into comic books and getting good grades. These three will be graduating from high school soon, but first they have a con of a lifetime to make it through.


I think the way Queens of Geek handled autism was wonderful! As I mentioned in my review of An Unkindness of Ghosts, I am autistic. I have specifically been wanting to read books with autistic main characters that are women or non-binary and written be autistic authors. I don't tend to get excited by non-fiction, so the books have to be fiction too. I found many I wanted to read, however my library had a slim selection on Overdrive. I went through and requested several to be added, but I'm happily reading what they do have in the meantime. Queens of Geek is the one I've wanted to read the longest, but I had previously forgotten to check if there was an audiobook already on there. Taylor doesn't specifically mention that she is autistic until late into the book, but to anyone with autism, it's evident early on. Her relationship with her favorite series, her reaction to sensory input, forgetting to eat, the way she interprets the world, how others treat her, all spot-on. There is a great tightrope comparison that another autistic character delivers which I don't wish to spoil, but I think it was perfect.


The relationship between Charlie and her internet crush, Alyssa, is one of the elements that kept me smiling. Both have emotional baggage from past relationships, things that keep them hesitant about a new one, but their draw to each other is captivating. Being ace, I'm not sure if they moved too fast or if allosexual readers wouldn't notice the speed at all. How Jamie and Taylor approach their relationship makes more sense to me personally. They've known each other for years, but are in no rush. Charlie and Alyssa knew each other through their online presences, but had never spoken before SupaCon. Read and judge for yourself. Let me know what you think and perhaps how your own identity influences your view!


One thing that I believe will pull in and please everyone (yes, even those who find the book flat), is the abundance of fandom references. While most are labeled, such as Friends, Indiana Jones, and Heathers, the ones that are made without explanation are the sweetest. I caught a reference to Orphan Black that was slipped in for only those who were in the know. It is my favorite show and I sometimes feel as though barely anyone has seen it. That does tie in with the message of the book, however. Queens of Geek sets out to let the characters and the audience know that they are not alone. That their weirdness is cool and can match the weirdness of others. Also that we aren't as alone as we think. That we have those who will support us, no matter how much they know us. This book made me feel happy and seen, so I urge you to give it a go!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page