top of page
Writer's pictureHannah Wahlberg

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda: A Jewish Lens

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

CW: Homophobia, Blackmail, Coming Out, Being Outed, Microagressions, Underage Drinking, Sexual Thoughts of Minors, Cyberbullying

5/5



This will be partially a review, partially editorial. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is an immensely popular book and put Becky Albertalli on the map. With a movie adaption and both spin-off books and a show, this book does not necessarily need another review. However, I see very little discussion of the Jewish elements within the story nor Albertalli's Jewish background's impact on the writing. I am someone who grew up in a Reform synagogue. I was active in my youth group and went to religious school through 12th grade, but I have mostly embraced Judaism culturally as an adult. I am well aware of the complaints against Albertalli's work stating that the books "aren't Jewish enough". I can relate to Albertalli and her books. I can also relate to the other YA Jewish authors that are writing these types of stories and characters. I fully believe and appreciate that these represent a valid Jewish experience.


I put off reading this book for quite a while. I had read The Upside of Unrequited in 2020, knowing it was by the same author but not fully registering they were in the same universe. It was the Judaism that drew me into that book and the nerdiness and queer characters that kept me reading it. That and I rarely pick up a book that I won't want to read all of. I may be a book blogger, but I do not have time for books I do not enjoy. Luckily the connection was minimal, enough for me not to pick up on it. While The Upside of Unrequited was a wonderful book and I recommend that everyone should read it before its movie comes out, it is not the subject of this post.


For a while, I had put off engaging with the rest of the Simonverse because I had heard that the movie did not live up to the hype. I am slow to get around to things, even when given enough evidence that I should give whatever it may be a try. I knew I was in love with Albertalli's writing, especially after reading Yes No Maybe So, and yet the Simonverse remained mostly untouched by me. Finally, a few months ago I decided to watch the movie. It was very cute and romantic, it made me want to read the book at some point. From there it was only a matter of finding a lull in my other reading. Thanks to Overdrive's waiting list system, I had several books coming soon but none that were available. Thus I caved and found exactly what I could expect from Albertalli. I found a beautifully woven story with great pacing and understandable characters. I also found the Judaism that was missing from the movie.


That's not to say there was a complete lack of Judaism in the movie, but comparing the two, there is a significant difference. Both Nick Eisner (Simon's best friend) and Blue (Simon's mystery pen pal) have Judaism as a part of their identity. I think Nick being Jewish lends itself well to Nick's interest in philosophy. I have always regarded Judaism as being a scholarly religion. We enjoy theory and semantics. I also had a good number of Jewish guy-friends in high school that were glued to their guitars. These things may not be overtly Jewish if you aren't looking for them, but I know what it's like to be a Reform Jewish teen around the time this book was being written, and I know Albetalli as a Jewish writer. She wrote Nick wonderfully.


With Blue, it was more about the experiences than the essence, but that makes sense when most of his page time is dialogue. The comment about Hannukka candles in a hotel setting off the sprinklers was noteworthy. Hannukka may not be the most important Jewish holiday, but when you're growing up in a community that prominently celebrates Christmas and you do not spend much time with a particular parent, the holiday can seem much bigger. While I've never set off sprinklers with candles, I remember not lighting candles in college thanks to them being banned in the dorms. I likely could have asked for a religious exemption, but as I mentioned previously, my adult life has been less religious than my childhood.


Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is certainly worth the read. Whether you've already seen the movie, are holding back because of its popularity, want a book that is queer and Jewish, or have your own book goals in mind, I recommend it. I understand the characters more than I did in the movie. It seems more likely that Martin does not fully grasp that he is blackmailing Simon, for one. Although, I am upset that neither the book nor the movie saw Martin getting in trouble with the school for his actions. It also seems more likely that Simon would agree to Martin's terms without considering Abby if it was just to help the two spend more time together. Finally, Leah's jealousy of Abby's friendship with Simon from the book works far better than her having a crush on Simon in the movie.


If you're looking for two anonymous pen pals divulging all of their innermost thoughts to each other while eating Oreos and Resse's, you've come to the right place. Fair warning to the adult readers, the sexual thoughts of Simon and Blue may be uncomfortable to read due to the age difference between you and the characters. Their thoughts are natural and valid, but not meant for all readers.

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Skylar Rella
Skylar Rella
Sep 27, 2022

(Read this one because it's the only book you've reviewed that I've read ((so far)) lol.)


The Jewish lens is not one I'd seen or heard about At All in the context of this story, so I found your writing about it super interesting! I read this book many years ago at this point (2016, maybe?), and honestly the Jewish aspects in the book I had more or less forgotten about, and in the movie I can't even recall identifying that as a component at all.


I was generally unhappy with most if not all the changes made from book to movie, frankly, but with regard to Jewish identity and experience in the context of the characters' narratives, I didn't…


Like
bottom of page